Tapeheads Forums

Go Back   Tapeheads Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Cassette

Cassette All discussions pertaining to cassette decks including general usage, recording, playback, servicing tips, and blank tape.

Universal Capstan Motor

Old 07-20-2010, 06:38 PM
TapeHeads Newbie

Question Endless Loop Tapes

Hi everybody,
I am a musician using a Tascam 424 to create compositions using endless loop tapes and vocal arrangements. I recently purchased a 488 because I was interested in adding to the complexity of the songs with four more tracks, but was disappointed when I realized the 488 won't play endless loop tapes.

I assume this is because the 488 has a dual capstan? If so, does anyone know of any way to modify the 488 to allow endless loop play, or any modification that can be done with the tapes to allow it?
Old 07-20-2010, 11:15 PM
Serious Tapehead

Well I am going by memory of what the old endless loop Answering Machine Cassette Tapes looked like. So far the only things I can remember about them are.

1) They have a metal sensing foil in the tape so the Answering Machine would stop at the end of the loop & be ready for the next incomming call.

2) And this is one reason why SOME tape decks would NOT/could NOT play these endless loop cassette tapes. While looking at the face of the tape the LEFT hub section was just a hole for a plastic alignment stud from the Answering Machine to go in & that hole in the tape usually was too small for the spindle of a regular cassette deck to fit through. The catch is that some cassette decks had a spring loaded spindle & those decks would sometimes allow you to load a endless loop cassette tape into the transport.