Tapeheads Forums

Go Back   Tapeheads Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks including general usage, recording, playback, servicing tips and blank tape.

Universal Capstan Motor

Old 07-13-2010, 06:39 AM
New To Tapeheads

Smile TEAC A-7010

I have a TEAC A-7010 and I have a problem with the pinch roller. The roller moves fine but whe I go to play or record it won't engage, it does disengage when I push stop. Does anyone know what the problem could be, is there an actuator controling this pinch roller?

Thank you
gdmunk

Old 07-13-2010, 07:44 AM
Skywave Tape Deck Repair

There is a Solenoid I am sure. But what is feeding that is likely relays that could have stuck contacts or even a microswitch at this point. You have to go through the troubleshooting and find where the problem is. Relatively few of these models (A7000-A6000) came into Teac when I was there although I have worked on them I am not an expert who has worked on hundreds of them. I am in the Midwest- Chicago area should you wish me to look at it.

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ 708-334-2260 Cell, E mail:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
http://www.thumbtack.com/il/bensenvi...tascam-repairs
Need Tape? http://www.splicit.com/index.html, The BEST SM are from Stereomanuals.com!
Old 07-15-2010, 06:27 AM
New To Tapeheads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skywavebe View Post