Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums
Universal Capstan Motor


Go Back   Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks. These include general usage, recording, playback, and service questions. For subjects related to tape itself, see the Open Reel subforum under this one. Obscure service subjects that don't quite fit go in the Help and Do It Yourself subforum.

Donate to Tapeheads!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2013, 08:41 AM
jimekiser's Avatar
jimekiser jimekiser is offline
TapeHeads.Net Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Grayson, Ky.
Posts: 17
Teac A 3340S

I have a Teac A 3340S that don't record or records real low and doesn't seem to erase the tape. Was wondering if there is anyone in Huntington/Ashland area that works on them. I enjoy listening to reel to reel and vinyl but do not know much about working on them and don't want to tear something up. Any help greatly appreciated.
  #2  
Old 04-28-2014, 07:47 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Hi Everyone.
I am new here, and I need your help. I just bought the A-3340s and came up with a problem. Whenever I hit play button, the machine does not play, instead it goes fast forward. To make it play, I have to push up the pinch roller a little to help the pinch roller and capstan come together, then it plays. Is it an easy fix or do I need to bring it to the technician.
Thanks,
Calvin
  #3  
Old 04-29-2014, 03:50 AM
pe9ghz's Avatar
pe9ghz pe9ghz is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dangcaonguyen View Post
Hi Everyone.
I am new here, and I need your help. I just bought the A-3340s and came up with a problem. Whenever I hit play button, the machine does not play, instead it goes fast forward. To make it play, I have to push up the pinch roller a little to help the pinch roller and capstan come together, then it plays. Is it an easy fix or do I need to bring it to the technician.
Thanks,
Calvin
Sorry I don't have hands on experience with this perticular model.
But the problem description suggest the pinch roller mechanism needs some lubrication to make it travel easier or a pressure adjustment problem.
  #4  
Old 04-29-2014, 04:51 AM
njfsdigital njfsdigital is offline
Reel to Reel and Cassette Deck Repairs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 248
3340s

those units are prone to have the p/r arm freeze up. you will need to remove the arm from inside and clean all the old grease from the arm and the pivot bar it sits on. put alittle oil on the arm and pin when you put it back together. this will solve your problem of no play. russ
__________________
We Repair With Care! Russ Bachmann/Owner/Techician Previous Teac,Tascam Service Manager/Tech at Teac Factory Service of NJ,NY,CT
www.njfactoryservice.com 201-967-0060 fax 201-967-0062 email:njfsdigital@verizon.net
http://www.thumbtack.com/nj/emerson/...l-audio-repair
  #5  
Old 04-29-2014, 09:59 AM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
Originally they used a grease on the Pinch Roller linkage and so I prefer to stay with what they used substance wise but of course as I have said before use Lubriplate 105 grease which I have used for many years without any problems.
I also advise people to loosen the solenoid fork on the plunger otherwise your Pinch Roller pressure will be upset when you loosen the solenoid from it's mount. It takes a few more minutes and some right angle tools but the result will save you from having to get a $70 Bike scale or fish spring scale and doing the 30-40 minute solenoid pressure adjustment.

The record problem can be from a number of areas but one area I often check right away is the switches under the head cover- these have all function going through them and the switches if hit can break the sync board and then the technician is going to have to resolve that. I have had many problems reported and that is one place I go to right off.Of course as Leon is fond of saying clean the heads- dirty heads even a tiny spec of stubborn oxide can separate tape from gap and give poor results in recording. You might also have to Deoxit spray the record switches and Bias EQ swithces. Older machines can have a lot of problems- I had one in three times and it was resoled by changing
all the capacitors on two of the 4 cards in the deck for those channels. There are 8 cards in a A3340S. I have also been told that wiskers cause
the variable Bias caps to short- and these are like metal slivers that short the cap by their presence. These machines are made of metal so it is possible.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!

Last edited by Skywavebe; 04-29-2014 at 10:52 AM.
  #6  
Old 04-29-2014, 12:19 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Thank you all of you so much for the helps. I will try to remove the pinch roller. Tell you the truth, i dont know how but i will goole it.
Calvin
  #7  
Old 04-29-2014, 06:54 PM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
Hi Calvin,
The Pinch Roller comes off, the bearing dust cap unscrews, the rear cover comes off and the Thrust plate is removed from the back of the flywheel. Then the flywheel and belt comes off with some hex allen wrench. Now the retaining U piece is removed from the back of the capstan bearing. Now keep all the screws for that bearing in position order- two longer screw go into the U piece while the shorter one goes in the the bearing mount by itself. This allows you to clean the bearing or old oil and to place new oil into it. Take the two screws out of the bracket that is adjacent to the Solenoid Plunger. You might need a Right angle type driver. Most Wrench sets have one of these. You may have to press into the screw hard to get it to release as the lacquer they put on it. Next take the screw loose on the top upper right of the microswitches. Loosen but do not take out the screw at bottom. Swing switches to the left and tighten lightly the bottom screw. This effectively get that center spacer back out of the way. Now is the time to grab the link that the Pinch Roller was on from the back and pull back and it should slide off the shaft. If it is on real tight I have used a BIC lighter to heat the shaft of the linkage so that the item will release. The shaft and linkage should be cleaned out with alcohol- I use denatured. The shaft to the front plate need to be solid not turning. If it is turning tighten it and place some locktite or lacquer at the shaft and face plate to get it to stay solid. There is just a countersunk screw on the other side. The Linkage is suppose to rotate on the shaft not the shaft with the linkage. That is why grease is used in the linkage and on the shaft. Also clean old grease from the lifters and arms as that make contact with the Pinch Roller Linkage- when the Pinch roller goes up so do the lifters- make sure this happens when you put it back together. Also there is a plastic stop underneath the microswitches. The cylinder that touches the microswitch plungers needs to stop at the 9 o'clock position or three o'clock while looking at front. This seems like a lot of complicated work but once you have done one they go a lot easier after that. It is a good time to take off the capstan motor, clean the pulley and oil both sides directly. I also clean the fan at this time too and install a capstan belt if it is needed. I put some grease on the cylinder where the switch plungers touch to keep noise down and allow the arm to move smoothly. grease under the spring will also take that spring noise away. When putting the flywheel back on do not tighten he lock nuts. Put the thrust plate back on all the way- add grease to the rear red paper where capstan bearing might touch. The nuts are tighten when the capstan shaft is pushed all the way back and then pulled forward about 1.5mm. This is called the capstan front to back play and results in longer bearings wear. There is also a nylon washer to watch out for when you extract the shaft from the flywheel. It is there to space the flywheel from the bearing and it needs to go back between them or mechanical noise will result. Once the oil is on the bearing they will stick there themselves but when the oil is died up they can fall down into the audio cards. Oil the Pinch Roller bearing when putting it back on and all should work like new.Don't close until the pinch roller goes up- push by hand and the lifters go up also. If they do not then it is put together wrong. The job can take less than an hour once you have the process down and parts in hand.
I have done hundreds of them.
If you have trouble let me know,
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!

Last edited by Skywavebe; 04-29-2014 at 06:59 PM.
  #8  
Old 04-29-2014, 07:16 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Hi Sam,
I will print the page you explained and put it in front of me before I start. I am a little scare right now. Hopefully I will have enough courage to start working on it sometimes next week. I will let you know the result. I wish you are in Southern California.
Thanks for the very clear explanation Sam.
Calvin
  #9  
Old 04-29-2014, 07:56 PM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
Hi Calvin,
This is one of the more simple items to take care of. Proceed carefully and with the knowledge that there are two Teac trained Technicians here that can help you. Often times fear of this stuff is unfounded as it is just a simple removal of a bunch or mechanical parts and cleaning them and then applying either grease or oil to parts and to put them back together again in the same way that they were. Getting belts in a kit from Marrs might get you the part in hand.
One thing to NOT ever do with this model is to let it lay on it's face. The Sync switches will never take the weight and will leave you looking for a sync PCB.
If one was to have to put the unit on it's face, a support structure should be made with wood to keep the Sync switches from making contact or being pushed on. I do these most of the time sitting upright.
If you are careful to collect all nylon special washers on Pinch Roller and on capstan shaft from between flywheel and capstan bearing you will be not looking for those. I have them here but they are not cheap having been made from special thin material and in less than 2000 piece quantity.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!
  #10  
Old 05-02-2014, 03:51 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Hi tapeheads members,
This morning with Sam encouragement, I started working on my Teac a3340s. After almost two hours included 40 mins to go to Home Depot to find the right tool, the project finished successfully.
I would like to thank you everybody, especially Sam for your support.
This is a great thread and i am glad to be a member.
Thanks,
Calvin
  #11  
Old 05-02-2014, 04:26 PM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
Good for you Calvin,

That is the results we like to hear on this Forum and that we are here to get with a little bit of effort.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!
  #12  
Old 09-09-2014, 06:28 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
My Teac A3340s does not record anymore

Hi Sam,
Yesterday I tried to record on my Teac and figured out it did not work. My VU meter does not move at all when I switch to source. It was working properly before I fix the pinch roller problem. I did not do any recording after fixing the pinch roller until yesterday. Is it an easy fix? The machine is still playing perfectly just not record. I already check the cable connecting from my preamp to the Teac.
Thanks,
Calvin
  #13  
Old 09-09-2014, 06:45 PM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
Two things can stop recording. One is the sync switches on the head block. If they are in sync mode as in turned to the right the deck will not record on that track as the play off the record head is set. These sync switches normally are set for the left position. Next as working on the linkage, there is a small board that sticks up in the rear- this is the Bias Oscillator- if wire broke off or it was damaged then again no record. When I get a no record issue I first look at the heads to see if they are clean- too many times they are not which is the problem and then if that is not it the scope probe is brought near the head PCB to see if the Bias Oscillator is coming on. The erase head gets the full tilt signal so it will be found there without touching the terminals. If nothing there, clean all record enable switches with Deoxit and exercise them. Also then clean all sync switches as well with Deoxit and Exercise them. Look for cracks on the sync board. If you put the deck on it face during service without protecting the sync switches and board- that board will crack and cause all kinds of issue as all signals go through that board. Other than that it is time to see a Technician.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!
  #14  
Old 09-09-2014, 07:04 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Hi Sam.
Thanks for a quick reply. The Teac stood upright when I fix the pinch roller, so broken parts can be ignore in my case. I will look at the head cleaning first then i will check the stick up board to see if any losen or broken wire. If not, i think i have to find a technician near my area for service.
Thanks,
Calvin
  #15  
Old 01-06-2016, 02:43 PM
Dangcaonguyen Dangcaonguyen is offline
TapeHeads Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
I need a reccomend for a technician in my area, (Los Angles).
Please help, my Teac A-3340s stopped working fior more than a year.
Thanks
  #16  
Old 01-06-2016, 06:46 PM
johns82's Avatar
johns82 johns82 is offline
Boy's bright, but he don't allways listen!
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Colton, Ca.
Posts: 5,086
For LA there is Tinman, I don't know if hes taking in wayward Teac's though. I am not a tech but an hobbyist who has fixed a number of Teac's, what is the problem? Might be able to help, I am in Colton.
__________________
Digital bite's the dust in my house!
  #17  
Old 01-06-2016, 10:10 PM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
I have worked on many of this model and soon to work on another with new head install. There is not a lot to stop recording from working in them.
The only thing is dirty sync switches, cracked board where they are- it is always good to inspect this board as the head cover comes off anyway to do alignment and this sync board has a lot of signals going through it. I had one recently that some clown muscled the wires so much that the track one and 4 had lose head terminals. This is what happen when gorillas work on the equipment. They also take panels apart when it does no good to do so and then assemble them back the wrong way indicating what idiots they are. This is the one I have to work on this time.
The other reasons that Leon likes to bring forth is dirty heads. When a deck loses recording on all tracks at a time dirty heads is a very good possibility.
Failure of 4 channels at the same time must be related to power supply or heads being dirty at the same time. It happens.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!
  #18  
Old 01-07-2016, 06:07 AM
johns82's Avatar
johns82 johns82 is offline
Boy's bright, but he don't allways listen!
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Colton, Ca.
Posts: 5,086
Yep pulled wires but I am betting on dirty heads as well. ALL FOUR TRACKS?

There are separate cards in this deck for record and bias cards as well. 1 &3 are on one card and 2 & 4 are on the others. Essentially "two decks in one". Both "decks" would have to fail. Seems to be dirty heads again Sam.

But as Sam said "monkey wrenching" the wires around can cause all sorts of grief. Has anyone been inside the deck near the time of failure?
__________________
Digital bite's the dust in my house!
  #19  
Old 01-07-2016, 09:55 AM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 10,227
Dirty heads is usually the first thing that comes to a Technicians thinking. Why do you think that is? Most decks that have come in with no record on 4 channel all at once will either have a power supply problem or that the user is oblivious to the need to clean the heads. There have been times that people tell me a deck does not record or play and looking at the heads and the 1/8" pile on oxide on the heads I can not tell why.

The truth is that these heads were dirty for a very long time and I wonder how anyone can even use machine to pile up oxide to that degree and not notice the lack of level and terrible response. Then a good cleaning happens and the deck sound like new. This has happened even at the counter of some service shops and the customer is educated. That is at the honest ones.
The A3340S can have damage done to the sync board at any point in it's life. It was a stupid way to do this but we are stuck with it- I have seen major breaks in these boards all the way down to tiny cracks you need to go looking for with a DVM. The access to such a board is not easy either. I don't bring up the head terminals as being lose as a common thing but a warning to those that work on these that you have to be easy on wires and not to pull on them with 50 pounds of force- you might end up paying for new heads and the install and alignment.

Even a broken sync board will not cut out 4 channels all at once. That would more be a power to the bias oscillator issue. If a unit does not erase or record, then the Technician working on the deck will most likely
place a scope probe near the erase head to see if there is bias signal.
If it is missing then that gives a direction to fix the oscillator. Dirty record enable switches can also be a reason for no record. If the person asks what are those then you might have found the fix. Funny as it seems some people do not know how to use their own machines.
Just trying to instill some insight.

Tinman is a professional Video Technician with more than enough capability to fix this unit. If he wants to take it in is his decision as he may be overloaded with units just like I am. I am sure the job would be an easy one with his capabilities. I am not sure Adrian at Adrian Audio would work on it but he has been in the business long enough and was a Teac Technician when these came out.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Teac A - 3340s firestream Reel To Reel 3 01-24-2015 09:43 AM
teac 3340s als1955 Reel To Reel 5 03-03-2014 07:43 AM
teac 3340s Bluecreech Reel To Reel 6 02-26-2014 03:46 AM
Teac 3340s Bluecreech Reel To Reel 7 02-19-2014 10:41 PM
Teac 3340S Help Please !!! javelin Reel To Reel 4 09-16-2011 12:40 PM



Would you like to see your company or site here?  CONTACT US
For more Tapeheads affiliates and links, see the Links and Resources page.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2016, Tapeheads.Net. All rights reserved, no use of any element incorporated into this site without express written permission.