Tapeheads Forums


Go Back   Tapeheads Forums > General Audio Discussions > Processors, Enhancements and Accessories

Processors, Enhancements and Accessories Enhancements to your system: equalizers, output displays, etc. Hey, does this EQ make me look fat?

Universal Capstan Motor
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:01 AM
xrayjames's Avatar
xrayjames xrayjames is offline
Total Mass Retained
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Brunswick Canada
Posts: 237
Hi performance power cables?

I don't want to open a can of worms, but are these hi-performance AC power cables necessary?
__________________
James
My man cave system:
Pioneer Elite SX A9-J Receiver/Pioneer Elite PD-D6-J SACD player/Yamaha KX1200u Cassette Deck/Dual CS505-2 turntable/Snell Acoustics Type JII Speakers
Comfy Chair & matching ottoman
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:35 AM
braxus's Avatar
braxus braxus is online now
FeCr Type III
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 6,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayjames View Post
I don't want to open a can of worms, but are these hi-performance AC power cables necessary?
Some say yes. Frankly I don't know. The only thing I could see is the stock cable being thin wire which would restrict flow. But honestly a lot of stereo components today being sold come with thicker power cables. So I don't know how a better cable would improve anything. That said I have a Sony SACD player which uses a fairly decent cable and people have claimed upping it to an aftermarket one improves sound. I don't know if that is fluff or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:46 AM
LesX55's Avatar
LesX55 LesX55 is online now
Lesx55
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 961
I think,well to a degree better cables work ( audio or mains ).
I use Isotek ( UK ) mains cable for all my higher end gear!! I feel they help lower noise pollution/RFI and in general lower the noise floor of the system.
I also use mains blocks that do the same and they are also surge protected
__________________
Tape Decks: Nakamichi CR-7 / Sony T-CK666Es / T-CK88b / T-CK80II/ Denon DRM-24HX. SACD/P :Sony SCD-1 / Marantz KI-Pearl.CDP:Sony 557Es / Phillips CD160.
Power Amps:Sony TA-NR1s: Pre Amps:Sony TA-E900Esprit / TA-E86Es. Intergrated Amp: AVI Lab Series S21. Speakers: Castle Howard S2 / Sony AMP22Es. Walkmans: Sony WM-DC2 / WM-DD33 / WM-60 / Toshiba KT-S1 / KT-S3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:47 AM
LesX55's Avatar
LesX55 LesX55 is online now
Lesx55
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 961
James,
I shall get the tracking number too you if the tape does not arrive soon.

Les
__________________
Tape Decks: Nakamichi CR-7 / Sony T-CK666Es / T-CK88b / T-CK80II/ Denon DRM-24HX. SACD/P :Sony SCD-1 / Marantz KI-Pearl.CDP:Sony 557Es / Phillips CD160.
Power Amps:Sony TA-NR1s: Pre Amps:Sony TA-E900Esprit / TA-E86Es. Intergrated Amp: AVI Lab Series S21. Speakers: Castle Howard S2 / Sony AMP22Es. Walkmans: Sony WM-DC2 / WM-DD33 / WM-60 / Toshiba KT-S1 / KT-S3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2011, 10:05 AM
xrayjames's Avatar
xrayjames xrayjames is offline
Total Mass Retained
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Brunswick Canada
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by LesX55 View Post
James,
I shall get the tracking number too you if the tape does not arrive soon.

Les
No worries, Les. It is a holiday weekend here, so there's no delivery on Monday. I am sure it will be here soon.
__________________
James
My man cave system:
Pioneer Elite SX A9-J Receiver/Pioneer Elite PD-D6-J SACD player/Yamaha KX1200u Cassette Deck/Dual CS505-2 turntable/Snell Acoustics Type JII Speakers
Comfy Chair & matching ottoman
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2011, 10:20 AM
Rat44's Avatar
Rat44 Rat44 is offline
Site Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tacoma,Wa
Posts: 2,802
The biggest problem I see with the upgraded power cables is when they cost more than the unit they are connecting to the wall plug.
Some older units do use some pretty thin wire.
I use decent RCA cables but subscribe to the law of diminishing returns.
This subject does tend to polarize the audio crowd.
__________________
" Yeah, can we have everything louder than everything else? "
Deep Purple
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2011, 11:35 AM
Pentium100's Avatar
Pentium100 Pentium100 is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayjames View Post
I don't want to open a can of worms, but are these hi-performance AC power cables necessary?
Of course they are - do you expect to power a 380V 100kW load with a 1mm^2 wire?Though if your device only uses something like 1kW (220V) then a thin wire might be OK, well, as long as it does not get very hot.


Oh, you mean AC power cables that supposedly improve the sound? As much as I doubt the effect of expensive signal cables, I doubt these even more. On te way from the generator to your device, the electricity passes trough several transformers and very likely tens if not hundreds of kilometers of wire (some of which may be underground, some above ground and some in the walls of your house). Unless you change the entire wire, I doubt that you will achieve a measurable effect, well, if the cable is thick enough to not melt the insulation when you turn on the device.
__________________
R2R: Akai GX636, Электроника-004, Revox A77, Юпитер МК-106С, Снежеть-301, National RQ-115, Uher 4400 IC, Aidas 9M, АСТРА 110С - Cassette: Technics RS-BX646, Sony WM-D6C, Marantz PMD430, Sony WM-EX606 - VHS: Siemens FM739 (SVHS), Sharp VC-MH704, Panasonic AG-7330 (SVHS) - Radio: Latvija M, Leak Troughline Stereo, Siemens B8 - Record player: Technics SL-D20, JVC L-E5 - LD: Pioneer CLD-2850 - MD: Sony MZ-RH1 - Amp: Denon PMA-1080R, Hitachi HA-37 - Other: dbx 224, 400xg, 3bx-ds 500char limit is here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2011, 09:42 AM
ke4mcl's Avatar
ke4mcl ke4mcl is offline
tapeheads.net supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: miami, fl
Posts: 7,884
i generally have little faith in any of the power cable hype. i'm no engineer so i'll take the word of what i consider to be a company founded on strong engineering practices, McIntosh. whatever mac uses for speaker and power cable is good enough for me.
__________________
certified hoarder of small plastic ribbon filled rectangles
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2011, 10:59 AM
Ricardus's Avatar
Ricardus Ricardus is offline
Chief Knob Twister
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Near Syracuse NY
Posts: 437
The Triplex from the pole to your house is aluminum wire, the entrance cable on your electrical entrance is aluminum wire. Why thinking that adding 3 ft of over-priced copper wire right before your device is going to help, is beyond me.

Once you've satisfied the maximum potential current draw of your device with proper gauge wire, your job is done.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2011, 11:04 AM
Ricardus's Avatar
Ricardus Ricardus is offline
Chief Knob Twister
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Near Syracuse NY
Posts: 437
Regarding what McIntosh does. They might give you an impressive looking cable, just because they make beautiful products, and wouldn't want to harm their image by supplying a crappy looking power cable. Doesn't mean you need one.

Having said that, I have no idea what they provide.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-10-2011, 11:14 AM
Pentium100's Avatar
Pentium100 Pentium100 is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardus View Post
The Triplex from the pole to your house is aluminum wire, the entrance cable on your electrical entrance is aluminum wire.
It's copper for me at least all the way from the electricity meter outside to the outlets. I suspect that it's copper to the electricity meter too. Anyway, as long as the wire doesn't get too hot, you're OK.
__________________
R2R: Akai GX636, Электроника-004, Revox A77, Юпитер МК-106С, Снежеть-301, National RQ-115, Uher 4400 IC, Aidas 9M, АСТРА 110С - Cassette: Technics RS-BX646, Sony WM-D6C, Marantz PMD430, Sony WM-EX606 - VHS: Siemens FM739 (SVHS), Sharp VC-MH704, Panasonic AG-7330 (SVHS) - Radio: Latvija M, Leak Troughline Stereo, Siemens B8 - Record player: Technics SL-D20, JVC L-E5 - LD: Pioneer CLD-2850 - MD: Sony MZ-RH1 - Amp: Denon PMA-1080R, Hitachi HA-37 - Other: dbx 224, 400xg, 3bx-ds 500char limit is here
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-10-2011, 11:19 AM
cristo cristo is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: York, Pa
Posts: 156
Something tells me that somewhere there's an audiophile tweeker who will put
an expensive power cord on his 40 watt soldering iron.
__________________
cristo
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-10-2011, 11:26 AM
Ricardus's Avatar
Ricardus Ricardus is offline
Chief Knob Twister
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Near Syracuse NY
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium100 View Post
It's copper for me at least all the way from the electricity meter outside to the outlets. I suspect that it's copper to the electricity meter too. Anyway, as long as the wire doesn't get too hot, you're OK.
Sure, your HOUSE is wired with copper. They outlawed aluminum wire in the entire house decades ago. But unless your electrical service is 50 years old, the wire from the pole to the meter is aluminum.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-10-2011, 01:05 PM
Pentium100's Avatar
Pentium100 Pentium100 is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardus View Post
Sure, your HOUSE is wired with copper. They outlawed aluminum wire in the entire house decades ago. But unless your electrical service is 50 years old, the wire from the pole to the meter is aluminum.
They recently replaced the wires outside (now the wiring is underground), but I do not know whether the wire is aluminium or copper. Could be aluminium, I can imagine the power company wanting to save money on the wire.
__________________
R2R: Akai GX636, Электроника-004, Revox A77, Юпитер МК-106С, Снежеть-301, National RQ-115, Uher 4400 IC, Aidas 9M, АСТРА 110С - Cassette: Technics RS-BX646, Sony WM-D6C, Marantz PMD430, Sony WM-EX606 - VHS: Siemens FM739 (SVHS), Sharp VC-MH704, Panasonic AG-7330 (SVHS) - Radio: Latvija M, Leak Troughline Stereo, Siemens B8 - Record player: Technics SL-D20, JVC L-E5 - LD: Pioneer CLD-2850 - MD: Sony MZ-RH1 - Amp: Denon PMA-1080R, Hitachi HA-37 - Other: dbx 224, 400xg, 3bx-ds 500char limit is here
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-10-2011, 03:09 PM
ke4mcl's Avatar
ke4mcl ke4mcl is offline
tapeheads.net supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: miami, fl
Posts: 7,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by cristo View Post
Something tells me that somewhere there's an audiophile tweeker who will put
an expensive power cord on his 40 watt soldering iron.
dude thats genius! just make sure the electron flow is going the right way if not the handle will get hot and tip will stay cool.
__________________
certified hoarder of small plastic ribbon filled rectangles
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-13-2011, 10:41 AM
DuckTape's Avatar
DuckTape DuckTape is offline
Type IV FTW
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas! Yee Haw!
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardus View Post
The Triplex from the pole to your house is aluminum wire, the entrance cable on your electrical entrance is aluminum wire.
No. It's not. It's a 270a cu from the meter to my house. This is fact.




edit - well, this my case, for my house, but your blanket statement still demonstrates your lack of knowledge for this sort of thing.

Last edited by DuckTape; 10-13-2011 at 11:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-13-2011, 10:42 AM
DuckTape's Avatar
DuckTape DuckTape is offline
Type IV FTW
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas! Yee Haw!
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardus View Post
Sure, your HOUSE is wired with copper. They outlawed aluminum wire in the entire house decades ago.
Again. Not factual. Codes are local.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-13-2011, 10:44 AM
DuckTape's Avatar
DuckTape DuckTape is offline
Type IV FTW
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas! Yee Haw!
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardus View Post
Once you've satisfied the maximum potential current draw of your device with proper gauge wire, your job is done.
No. It's not. Power supply quality is relative to locality, distance from production, method of distro, population density, age of infrastructure, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-13-2011, 10:52 AM
DuckTape's Avatar
DuckTape DuckTape is offline
Type IV FTW
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas! Yee Haw!
Posts: 760
Lastly Ricardus, you, like so many other anti upgrade choirboys, seem to completely (oh goodness, certainly not INTENTIONALLY) disregard the fact that an increasingly large number of folks out there use stand alone regens.

Now, what YOUR particular problem with the aftermarket industry is, I can only fathom, but before spreading more disinfo, maybe spend some time with a tech from your local utility and get the basic facts so you have a sound (get it? SOUND) foundation on which to refute claims of increased performance, whether anecdotal or factual.




FYI folks, the next post we see from Ric will be one stating no empirical evidence this and that yadda yadda, anecdotal only yadda yadda, no lab proven this and that, and the (as always) magic bullet of double blind flimdy flem with the convenient omission of the actual lab results from the mfrs and customers of regenerators.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-13-2011, 11:56 AM
Pentium100's Avatar
Pentium100 Pentium100 is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 2,237
Ok, the wiring from the power plant to the outlet is fixed. The power cable from the outlet to the device is probably only something like 3m long. Even if it is thick enough to power 10 devices at once, what difference will it make to the voltage in the primary of the power transformer in the device?

Well, let's see. 230V is quite high voltage, so unless the device uses a lot of power, the current will be something like 2A. The voltage drop over the cable will be negligible compared to 230V. For a 0.5mm^2 wire, 6m of it will have ~0.2Ohm resistance, the voltage drop will be 0.4V, or about 0.17%. The voltage in the outlet varies by more than that.

If you use some sort of power conditioner (or a on-line UPS) to make a cleaner waveform then the device should work better, especially if the AC is bad quality. However, just replacing the last 3 meters of cable should not result in any detectable effect.
__________________
R2R: Akai GX636, Электроника-004, Revox A77, Юпитер МК-106С, Снежеть-301, National RQ-115, Uher 4400 IC, Aidas 9M, АСТРА 110С - Cassette: Technics RS-BX646, Sony WM-D6C, Marantz PMD430, Sony WM-EX606 - VHS: Siemens FM739 (SVHS), Sharp VC-MH704, Panasonic AG-7330 (SVHS) - Radio: Latvija M, Leak Troughline Stereo, Siemens B8 - Record player: Technics SL-D20, JVC L-E5 - LD: Pioneer CLD-2850 - MD: Sony MZ-RH1 - Amp: Denon PMA-1080R, Hitachi HA-37 - Other: dbx 224, 400xg, 3bx-ds 500char limit is here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to improve the Revox B-215S low-end performance Mikemaxcel Studer/Revox 8 07-22-2012 04:17 AM
Performance you were told, but NOT getting. 390FE Specialties by Manufacturer 7 04-26-2011 09:21 PM
New High Performance Cassette Tape NOW!! Lance Lawson Cassette 33 12-07-2010 05:36 AM
TDK CD BASS 74: HEAVY-ASS PERFORMANCE MacGyver Blank Cassette Tape 12 10-06-2008 08:03 PM



For more Tapeheads affiliates and links, see the Links and Resources page.
Would you like to see your company or site here?  CONTACT US


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2013, Tapeheads.Net. All rights reserved, no use of any element incorporated into this site without express written permission.