Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums
Universal Capstan Motor

Go Back   Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks including general usage, recording, playback, servicing tips and blank tape.

Donate to Tapeheads!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2011, 10:02 AM
oxymoron oxymoron is offline
TapeHeads.Net Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
A-4010 GSL not recording/erasing

I know that in the 4010 SL, theres a switch that is activated from the pinch roller mechanism that was faulty on a lot of machines and that adjustment of this switch in relation to the mechanical part that engages the PR solved some people's problems. The switch in the 4010 SL isbelow the left side reel.

There is no such switch in the GSL version.

I am guessing that the switch is activated by a mecahnical piece that can be accessed from the REAR of the deck.

Am I on the right track here?

Can somebody confirm this and walk me through how to adjust to enable the machine to properly record/erase?

My LEFT record light comes on, but no the right one. It's more than a failure of the bulb to work. The record and erase functions are not working .

Old 02-06-2011, 10:45 AM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 9,849
Hi Oxy,
From what I can see from the schematics I have, the two push switches for the record enable activate two different relays that light up the lamps and turn on the Bias oscillator as well as provide erase voltage to the erase heads. I have a Blue print schematic from a Teac book. The relays are K101 and K201. These should be looked at to see if they are energizing or if they are if they are making good contact inside. They look to be a 4 pole relay for each channel. I have worked on A4010's but have not seen one in the past 12 years- I get all the newer stuff here.
There are also two 1000uFd caps in the switch circuit that could be part of the problem. Large old caps like that are a problem waiting to happen- I would change them with new. C308 and C309.
If you need me to scan and send Pdf files of the schematics I have it can be done by contacting me at skywavebe@comcast.net .
I also repair these things if you happen to be in the Midwest/ Chicago area.
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE, past Broadcast Engineer
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email:skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
Now accepting MC, Visa, Discover Cards!
Old 02-06-2011, 11:30 AM
oxymoron oxymoron is offline
TapeHeads.Net Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks for the swift reply, Sam.
I will take your post and try and run down my problem from what you have told me.
I appreciate the help.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technics deck not recording/erasing tallman5353 Cassette 5 04-13-2015 03:55 PM
erasing old recording eljorgito Reel To Reel 14 09-10-2013 01:46 PM
Even More TEAC A-4010 fun!! DaveInVA Reel To Reel 20 06-08-2013 11:26 AM
Erasing and Recording on a 9000X dtainer Reel To Reel 13 02-08-2013 06:29 PM
The importance of erasing before recording. zenith2134 Cassette 3 08-12-2008 12:44 AM

Would you like to see your company or site here?  CONTACT US
For more Tapeheads affiliates and links, see the Links and Resources page.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2015, Tapeheads.Net. All rights reserved, no use of any element incorporated into this site without express written permission.