Tapeheads Forums

Go Back   Tapeheads Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks including general usage, recording, playback, servicing tips and blank tape.

Universal Capstan Motor

Old 11-18-2010, 04:35 PM
Tapehead Padawan

One of the Coolest Machines I've seen!

These Nagra machines just amaze me! Check this out: http://cgi.ebay.com/Nagra IV-STC Reel-2-Reel

I am a total newbie to r2r, what's the deal with these things?
Old 11-18-2010, 04:45 PM
Proud Jaguar Owner

One of the best portable recorders ever made. The quality is just epic.

My friend has a III and it records as clean as his Sony APR-5003.

Since I do mobile live recording, that's basically the best unit out there. I wish I could afford one.

Technics SL-1200mk2, Ortofon OM20, Hyper-modded Audio Research SP3, Poseidon'd Dynaco MkIII's (or a Yamaha PC-5002M), Klipsch Chorus II's
The Deck Collection: Ampex AG-440B (x2), Ampex AG-351, MCI JH-110C, Teac A-3340S, Tascam 34B, 48, 122B, DA-38, 3M 1/2" 4tk M64, Technics RS-1500, Tandberg 62x, Teac 3300S, Otari MX-5050, and more!
Old 11-18-2010, 11:59 PM
Serious Tapehead

Nagra is a legend in the recording industry, the quality & performance of there machines are second to none..

A visit ti Nagra: http://www.6moons.com/industryfeatur...urnagra/1.html

http://www.6moons.com/industryfeatures/nagra300b/1.html

http://www.bm.rs/Nagra/A%20Visit%20t...%20no%2026.pdf

enjoy
Old 11-19-2010, 03:37 AM
Tonkopf

thanks for the links steve, great read.
Old 11-19-2010, 07:17 AM
Tapehead Padawan

Thanks for the shortcuts. Amazing company! I could put roots down and work for a company like that the rest of my life! I am curious, these Nagra tapedecks always seem to be priced in the several thousand range, what did they or do they cost new?
Old 11-19-2010, 07:40 AM
Proud Jaguar Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisboyelroy View Post