Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums
Universal Capstan Motor

Go Back   Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks. These include general usage, recording, playback, and service questions. For subjects related to tape itself, see the Open Reel subforum under this one. Obscure service subjects that don't quite fit go in the Help and Do It Yourself subforum.

Donate to Tapeheads!

Old 10-26-2016, 10:16 AM
TapeHeads.Net Member

TEAC A-6300 newbie - low record level and subdued highs

Hello,

I'm new to reel to reel recording and I'm just trying to slowly learn about things.

I've got a TEAC A-6300, which looks wonderful cosmetically, but has a perfomance issues -- specifically, a generally low level, and a lack of highs (more detail later).

I have some experience with tinkering with electronics and mechanical things (and instruments), but I'm not an expert.

From reading threads here I've picked up on some ideas and possibilities, but I wanted to kind of gather those things and see if this is a good direction to go. (If there is already a thread like this, I apologize. I looked, but did not run across it.)

More on the problem: I noticed it when recording off an LP and toggling the MONITOR switch between the tape and the source. The tape was missing a lot of the highs, and the level was generally lower (about 3db, I think).

This could obviously be coming from the Record head or the Play head, but I don't have a good commercial release tape for testing. I'm working on getting one.

I have however, demagnetized the heads (and capstan, etc), and cleaned them with alcohol and a q-tip. This seems to not have made little difference.

1. Should I take it to a repair shop (there is a good one in town) for a head reallignment? Is that the most likely issue?