Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums
High quality analog audio tape for professionals and enthusiasts alike.

Go Back   Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks. These include general usage, recording, playback, and service questions. For subjects related to tape itself, see the Open Reel subforum under this one. Obscure service subjects that don't quite fit go in the Help and Do It Yourself subforum.

Donate to Tapeheads!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2014, 04:05 PM
ReelGood ReelGood is offline
TapeHeads.Net Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 40
TEAC A-4300SX Output Level Maxed

Is it normal to have to set the output level to the maximum to have the volume be comparable to other components connected to the receiver? I am playing back commercial recordings from the 60's - 70's.

Thanks

edit: This is my first reel to reel that I took delivery of today. Still learning what is normal/expected from these machines.

Last edited by ReelGood; 01-14-2014 at 04:07 PM.
  #2  
Old 01-15-2014, 01:51 AM
Copyhat's Avatar
Copyhat Copyhat is offline
B&O, Revox, Sony, Akai and Nakamichi
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 500
It's quite normal that the output level needs to be maxed to match other components in the system - that will also assure that the noise level stays as low aa possible.
__________________
Anything analog suits me well
  #3  
Old 01-15-2014, 07:40 AM
deromax's Avatar
deromax deromax is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lac-a-la-tortue, PQ, Canada
Posts: 529
Decks can have their "nominal output" at different volume knob position. For some it's at 7 out of 10, some are at the 3 o'clock position, other it's at maximum. The few pre-recorded tapes I listened are recorded at conservative levels, so that may be correct to have the level maxed out on playback.
__________________
Tascam 42, Revox G36, Revox A77 Mk4, Teac A2300SX, Akai 4000DS Mk2, Sony TC-399 silver, Realistic TR-3000, Ampex 1250, Alesis ADAT, Technics RS-B555, Tascam 122 MkII, Sony WM-F8, Wollensak 2551AVC, Sony MZ-R700, Pioneer H-R100, Technics SV-DA10, Technics SL-D2, Panasonic SL-S340

Supporting 10 audio formats and counting!
  #4  
Old 01-15-2014, 10:51 AM
jan_stevns's Avatar
jan_stevns jan_stevns is offline
Tapedecks & Bernese mountain dogs ..that's life
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by deromax View Post
Decks can have their "nominal output" at different volume knob position.
Yep - Problem is new devices are "louder" - they are outputting higher levels than tapecorders usually do
  #5  
Old 01-15-2014, 01:02 PM
Skywavebe's Avatar
Skywavebe Skywavebe is offline
Skywave Tape Deck Repair
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bensenville, IL
Posts: 14,000
The Teac decks have some different outputs at specified output level for different models. Some models put out 0 dBu and others -5 dBu and then others -10 dBu. In any case, any of these should be usable with regular Hi Fi equipment. If you are playing a tape made at 150nWb/M flux density to avoid saturation then you will have to turn the output up. If you are playing a tape with 185 to 200 nWb/M flux density it should be playing back near 0 Vu depending on how it was recorded.
It also depends on how your deck was calibrated. There are people on E bay selling serviced decks who use receiver meters and graphic equalizers as their test equipment. They don't even use test tapes.
These decks are more likely to be out of calibration than if they would have left them alone. So this is also a possibility as to your level problem.
I get machines in all the time that certainly show that some person was in adjusting the deck with abstract means and they are all far off the mark.
__________________
Best regards,

Sam Palermo, BSEE , ProSquad Member
Skywave Tape Deck Repair- Chicago area
(630)616-0932 Office/ Email skywavebe@sbcglobal.net
Past Teac/Tascam Lead Service Technician at Chicago Factory Service still doing repairs.
http://s609729863.onlinehome.us/tape...uipment-repair
Now accepting MC, Visa, Amex & Discover Cards!
  #6  
Old 01-15-2014, 01:09 PM
jblmar jblmar is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brooklyn New York
Posts: 92
Following the Service Manual, the specified level is set at the 2 o'clock position. It would be a good idea to download the SM and check the deck accordingly. Record a tape and play it back. A prerecorded commercial tape is an inaccurate indication of your decks performance.
Reply


Would you like to see your company or site here?  CONTACT US
For more Tapeheads affiliates and links, see the Links and Resources page.


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CR-4 output level Booga100 Cassette 16 10-09-2015 10:12 AM
Output level control CyberWarrior Reel To Reel 22 06-09-2015 05:29 PM
Teac A-3340S abnormally high output level? vinyldavid Reel To Reel 4 09-18-2011 02:28 AM
Cartridge Output Level Variations braxus Turntables and Vinyl 4 01-28-2011 12:00 PM
Strange reference level output jazzgene Cassette 11 10-06-2010 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2016, Tapeheads.Net. All rights reserved, no use of any element incorporated into this site without express written permission.