Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums
Universal Capstan Motor

Go Back   Tapeheads Tape, Audio and Music Forums > Tape, Taping and Tape Machines > Reel To Reel

Reel To Reel All discussions pertaining to reel to reel decks. These include general usage, recording, playback, and service questions. For subjects related to tape itself, see the Open Reel subforum under this one. Obscure service subjects that don't quite fit go in the Help and Do It Yourself subforum.

Donate to Tapeheads!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2017, 11:29 AM
knownothin knownothin is online now
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Seffner, Florida
Posts: 779
Teac A-6300 Output Level Knob

Does the output level knob supposed to have an inner and outer, controlling each channel separately?
The knob on my deck has a single adjustment, controlling both channels.
Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg teac25.jpg (63.1 KB, 17 views)
  #2  
Old 02-16-2017, 12:00 PM
Gussers's Avatar
Gussers Gussers is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Denver via UK
Posts: 259
I think the output is single. It's the input that's inner and outer. It is on my A3300SR
__________________
Sony 777S-4, Akai GX-230D (x2), Pioneer RT-707, TEAC A3300SR
  #3  
Old 02-16-2017, 12:21 PM
john from seattle john from seattle is online now
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tacoma Washington
Posts: 1,906
I think it depends on when your particular deck was made as some models go through changes during its run and if the 6300 is like the A4300, the knobs start out silver as you show with silver buttons and a single tape/source switch for both channels and thus the output volume may be the same, but at some point, the knobs and switches become black/charcoal and separately ideally to left/right buttons for the tape/source and thus the output volume become the nested left/right like the line and mic volume controls.
__________________


my system Kenwood KD12-RB turntable, SHURE M97xE cart, Muffsy PP3 phono pre, Receiver: Sherwood RX4030R, TEAC A4300SX R2R, Denon DCM-370 CD changer, Speakers: sansui SP1700 and in testing/restoration phase, Sansui SP-3000, eMachines PC for multimedia use and recently got a Nakamichi BX100 cassette deck
  #4  
Old 02-16-2017, 01:41 PM
PWhite214 PWhite214 is offline
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 289
I recently acquired an A6300, the mic, line and output controls are all silver and right / left.

Phil
__________________
Teac A6300, Akai GX-280D-SS, Pioneer RT-2022/44, Tascam 34b (3)
  #5  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:25 PM
macman007's Avatar
macman007 macman007 is offline
Live Long and Prosper..
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hanover, Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 4,659
The output control should be 2 knobs, inner and outer, top and bottom, adjust independently. If you pull both knobs off (there may be a set screw on each, look on the sides of each all around) you should see 2 distinct controls on the shaft, one looks like a 'D' the other a 'U' or a double slot. If it doesn't, I believe the output pot may have been changed out for some reason. I'm not saying it is impossible, but strangely enough I've never seen it on at least 50 or so machines. Perhaps is was an early design or the factory ran out of independently adjustable pots. I can't see if they are separate in that photo, but somewhere in the front panel, the left/right nomenclature should be silk screened showing the inner and outer knobs independent of each other for left and right channels.

Perhaps the carbon tracking failed, fell apart, shaft snapped or bent severely, was noisy or displayed very different measured resistances left and right when both set to the same position. I've had these pots where one channel is very different (higher or lower)measured resistances compared to each other set to minimum, letting signal past. Others measured far off from the other when in the 2 O'clock 'Specified Output' position, then need changed.

Most noisy pots will respond to DeOxit treatment. As I said, now and again, they just need replacing. I had a Pioneer RT-909 not long ago did the same thing, allowed too much signal past with BOTH left and right set to the minimum positions, on all three pots, Mic, Input, Output. It was known by Pioneer to be a problem on the 901/909, and I managed to find 3 later production revised replacements, that addressed the problem.

Still, it's really no excuse to switch out an Alp's or any brand left/right independently adjustable stereo pot, to one having only single adjustment not independent of the other. I would only consider doing that as a last resort in the event the correct one is Un-Obtanium, which they are not.

Never seen a single control output on any of the early metal or later Nylon knob'd Teac A series machines. Sometimes the shafts get very sticky/crusty and don't allow independent movement for left and right channels. After pulling the knobs of,f give the shaft and internals a thorough DeOxit treatment, soaking until they each work independent of the other. All 3 knob sets should each move independent of each other, for left and right.

If you want, post a photo of the shafts with the knobs removed so we can make sure the control is capable of independent adjustment. Again, make sure there are no Allen set screws or other type, locking the knobs to the shafts. Other than that, both should be a straight pull off with no pliers or other prying necessary.

Last edited by macman007; 02-16-2017 at 03:33 PM.
  #6  
Old 02-16-2017, 06:29 PM
knownothin knownothin is online now
Serious Tapehead
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Seffner, Florida
Posts: 779
The knob has two parts, but the pot only has one adjustment for both channels.
And so, it may as well have a one piece knob, unless someone monkeyed with it and changed out the original dual pot.
Although the picture in the manual does not indicate an inner/outer symbol at the output, like it does for the line and mic. And the other picture with flow diagram doesn't mention two movements either, but it is unclear to me.
It seems to work fine though. It just seemed strange.
Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg teac28.jpg (65.4 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg teac27.jpg (48.6 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg teac26.jpg (63.8 KB, 21 views)
Reply


Would you like to see your company or site here?  CONTACT US
For more Tapeheads affiliates and links, see the Links and Resources page.


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TEAC A-6300 newbie - low record level and subdued highs TEACLuke Reel To Reel 19 12-09-2016 09:34 AM
output knob settings JonVietor66 Open Reel Tape Media 10 06-15-2015 05:19 AM
TEAC A-4300SX Output Level Maxed ReelGood Reel To Reel 5 01-15-2014 12:09 PM
Teac A-3340S abnormally high output level? vinyldavid Reel To Reel 4 09-18-2011 01:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2016, Tapeheads.Net. All rights reserved, no use of any element incorporated into this site without express written permission.